The Mark of Athena

I have written many articles about the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and the Heroes of Olympus series. The book I am writing about today is the Mark Of Athena the third book in the Heroes of Olympus series. Here is a quick recap of what happened so far in the series. Piper, daughter of Aphrodite, Leo, Son of Hephaestus, and Jason, Son of Jupiter, make it to Camp Half-Blood. Jason has lost his memory. Camp Half-Blood is a summer camp that is home to Greek demigods from all around the USA. So, Piper, Leo, and Jason go on a quest to rescue Piper’s dad aboard a celestial bronze mechanical dragon named Festus (Festus means happy in Latin). So the trio rescue Piper’s dad and return to Camp-Half Blood to find that Jason’s memory has returned and he is a Roman demigod! That’s a summary of the Lost Hero, now rewind to the beginning of the book where this next one takes place. Now where in the Son of Neptune, we meet Percy Jackson (hmmm he sounds familiar) who has also lost his memory and winds up at the Roman demigod camp! He goes on a quest with his new friends Hazel, daughter of Pluto, and Frank, Son of Mars, to free ‘death’ (Or the real name Thanatos if we’re being mythically correct). They succeed and return to Camp Jupiter to fight a giant where Percy receives his memory back. Then, guess what? His Greek friends are coming for him! Now we are all caught up.  


So, The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan is the third book in the Heroes of Olympus series. In this book, we have seven demigods aboard the Argo II, a flying boat that is carrying the demigods that will, hopefully, save the world. On the boat is Percy, Annabeth (remember her?), Hazel, Frank, Piper, Leo, and Jason. Those guys are from the prophecy of the seven, the newest great prophecy provided by Rachel Elizabeth Dare, the current Oracle. In these books, we read all of these funny and action-packed mini-quests at stops all around the world. Read The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan.


Sea of Monsters article:

Battle of the Labyrinth article:

The Last Olympian article:

The Lost Hero article:

The Son of Neptune article:

Rick Riordan’s official website for all his series: